About Us

Local. Trusted. Banking.

Minnesota Valley Federal Credit Union was established in 1934 as a member-owned, not for profit financial cooperative. This website has been designed to offer a wealth of information about the products and services offered to you as a Minnesota Valley Federal Credit Union member.

As a member, you will enjoy convenience and member service that simply is not available at most financial institutions. Once you join, your immediate family members are also eligible to join, and you may retain your membership for life - even if you change jobs, relocate or retire.


Who can join?

Minnesota Valley Federal Credit Union serves those who live, work, worship, attend school, or volunteer in and businesses and other legal entities located in Blue Earth, Nicollet, Le Sueur, Waseca, Brown or Watonwan counties; or have an immediate family member who is a member.

Our Story

Founded in 1934, MVFCU was originally Mankato Teachers Credit Union. Our first office was originally a janitor's closet at the Mankato High School and our first CEO, Dave Ling, worked part time. Throughout the years we continued to serve local businesses and their employees.

In the late 90s we had over 80 businesses or "Select Employee Groups" who made up our membership. In 2001, MVFCU changed to a community charter which allowed us to serve anyone living, working, worshiping or attending school in Blue Earth, Brown, Nicollet, Le Sueur, Waseca or Watonwan Counties.

Today, MVFCU has nearly 40 employees, over $283 million in assets, and provides banking services to nearly 18,000 members.

The Credit Union Difference

As a credit union member, you are not just a "customer" but part-owner of a financial cooperative in which all the members pool their resources to help one another. Credit unions are dedicated to the principle of "people helping people", and have a not-for-profit federal and state income tax status similar to other cooperatives that work primarily to better the lives of those involved and better the communities in which they live. Your credit union is directed by a volunteer board, elected by the membership, which is entrusted to keep the members’ best interests in mind, every day, all year long.

Credit unions reinvest their income to improve the financial well-being of the entire organization and each individual member. This is why they are known for their reasonable loan rates and fair return on savings. Your account will never be sold to an out-of-state bank. You will always have a voice regarding the direction of your financial institution. Credit unions also have a special commitment to reach out to persons who might otherwise be unable to obtain affordable financial services elsewhere.

Our Mission

To exceed the expectations of our member-owners and employees and be their most valued and trusted financial institution and employer, always in keeping with the cooperative principles.

Diversity Policy

Minnesota Valley Federal Credit Union is committed to a culture of embracing diversity and inclusion among our members, employees, directors, vendors and partners. We believe that differences in our employees and members enrich the work environment and greatly enhance our ability to effectively fulfill our mission, live our values and meet the needs of the communities we serve.

Patronage Dividend

If you're one of our more active members you may see a YES Bonus in your Primary Share Account. The YES Bonus stands for "Your Extra Slice" and is our way of saying THANK YOU for being an active member of MVFCU.

Learn more about the Patronage Dividend

Financial Highlights

MVFCU continues to report a strong financial condition. View our current financial highlights and past financial trends here.

Want to become a member?

Board of Directors

Volunteer Members
Steve Erdman - Chairperson
Brian Boettcher - Vice Chair
Melissa Bublitz- Secretary
Harold "Sandy" Bartlett - Treasurer
Michael Blaine - Membership Chair
Tom Bicek - Director
Carol Whitney- Director

View Past Volunteers Here

Supervisory Committee

Volunteer Members
Timothy Madsen - Chairperson
Daryl Arzdorf
Beth Kremer
Warren Michels
Mark Weber


Nick Meyer - President/ CEO
Trent Talle - Executive Vice President
Trinette Risting - Vice President of Operations
Ben Suker - Vice President of Development
Sarah Adams- MSA Manager


Alexander Nelson- MSA
Anania Berhanu - PT MSA
Angela Kilmer- Project Administrator
Autumn Manni- PT MSA
Avery Johnson- Loan Officer
Becky Wilson - Senior Loan Officer
Bradley Schintz - Projects & Systems Specialist
Brittany Greenwaldt- Member Service Lending Representative
Carolyn Karnick - PT MSA
Ericka Powell- Lead MSA
Jenna Reiten- Call Center Specialist
Jennifer Bloomquist - Executive Assistant/ Call Center Specialist
Jenny Benzel - Projects & Marketing Specialist
Jessica Wheelock- Senior Loan Officer
Joann Ericksen - Accountant/ Branch Supervisor
Jolene Larson - Loan Processor
Judy Kroll - Accountant
Kara Davis- Senior Loan Officer
Kaya Strassburg- Loan Processor
Karen Johnson - Call Center Specialist
Keri Lundgren - Mortgage Servicing Specialist
Lori Brock - MSA
Melinda Halstrom- MSA
Melissa Stafford - Lead Mortgage Loan Processor
Melody Schott- MSA
Mike Thompson - Loan Officer
Paige Longeneker- Loan Officer
Shannon Hoechst- Mortgage Loan Processor
Spencer Nelson- PT MSA
Stephanie Sheldstad- MSA
Thi Nguyen- PT MSA
Tommy Kelly- PT MSA
Tyler Kahnke- Lead MSA